“Tell it like it is Monday”

I’ve been inspired to write a blog. If inspiration is the way you would frame it.
I happened to be scrolling through my Facebook news feed the other day, and one of the mothers on my (single) newsfeed posted something along the lines of:

“Oh FFS, no one cares that you did Run For The Kids on the weekend, get over it”

These of course were not the exact words, as the post has since been deleted. For what reason, I cannot say. I will, however, say that I was filled with a sense of indignation about this post.

Was I one of these people she was referring to, you may ask yourself? Certainly not. I have no interest in getting off my ass on a Sunday morning and running across the Bolte Bridge. But why shouldn’t they be able to get excited about their one time achievement, or at the very most, once a year achievement – when all I see all day, week, month and year long is pictures of your children. Who I do not care for in the slightest.

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 4.07.22 pm

If I were to “Tell it like it is Monday” – I would simply have no friends left. There are very few people who I would not offend with my Facebook comments, should I say what I am actually thinking.

No, I have no interest in seeing your child in their nappies. Put some pants on them. I don’t put up photos of me in my shitty underwear. I know you’re excited about your child, but how about showing a little restraint with all the pictures for the sake of everyone else.

Or at the very least, hold your tongue when you’ve decided someone’s achievement in something isn’t newsworthy. Because I don’t think your children are. And I hold that comment, because it’s rude.

So instead of losing friends and winning enemies, I have decided to write about things that annoy me. And what does one like to read about better than another being terribly annoyed? I hope the irritants of my life will come to serve you with many laughs at my expense.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

